I haven’t posted in what feels like forever, but I’ve been collecting snip-its of wisdom for myself and wanted to share.

A quote from Barbara Johnson. This came from a daily devotional I get in my email from Living Life Fully.

“God knows change can make your life richer. Live for today but hold your hands open to tomorrow.  Anticipate the future and its changes with joy.  There is a seed of God’s love in every event, every circumstance, every unpleasant situation in which you may find yourself.  Don’t get stuck in a rut or hung up on an outdated blessing.  You serve a God of change!”

This next quote came from my son’s RE Curriculum. If you are not familiar with Unitarian Universalism, I think the children’s lessons are actually a great place for anyone to start.

A writer for Reader’s Digest magazine interviewed Christopher Reeve near the end of his life, in 2004, and asked him why he had joined a Unitarian church. He answered, “It gives me a moral compass. I often refer to Abe Lincoln, who said, ‘When I do good, I feel good. When I do bad, I feel bad. And that is my religion.’ I think we all have a little voice inside us that will guide us. It may be God, I don’t know. But I think that if we shut out all the noise and clutter from our lives and listen to that voice, it will tell us the right thing to do.”

Last but not least my very favorite shared by Christine Organ on her blog. A quote from Howard Thurman.

“Don’t ask what the world needs. Ask what makes you come alive, and go do it. Because what the world needs is people who have come alive.”

I am trying my very best to remember this quote each day, especially at decision time. I tend to feel an excruciating amount of guilt when I decline to participate in something, but I have to keep reminding myself that I will be most useful participating in activities that harness the power of my passion and not just my feelings of guilt.