Tags

, , ,

Grab On to Me Tightly as if I Knew the Way: A NovelGrab On to Me Tightly as if I Knew the Way: A Novel by Bryan Charles
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

Overall, it was not great, but it held up to my expectations. It’s a book told from the perspective of a recent high school graduate who has no idea what he’s doing with his life, has fallen in love with his band-mate’s damaged girlfriend and is basically a mess. Many of the entries (I call them this because they weren’t exactly chapters) are either drug/alcohol-induced or sleep-deprived stream of consciousness nonsense. There are some particularly good points and I did end up rooting for the guy.

My favorite quote: “The punks are too late. Coca-Cola and McDonald’s alrady own us. One day we’ll wake up with MTV logos tattooed on our heads and IBM computer chips planted in our nuts. Resistance is futile. Now let’s go smoke a little grass.”

View all my reviews

