Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Dancing Barefoot: The Patti Smith StoryDancing Barefoot: The Patti Smith Story by Dave Thompson
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I was introduced to Patti Smith as an adolescent listening to the Gone Again album. I absolutely fell in love with her, but I never truly understood her…especially her early work. I read Just Kids last year and started to see a little of what I had missed. Dave Thompson has done an excellent job of laying out the facts while not excluding the emotion of her career. She is an absolute inspiration and now my lists of “to read” “to watch” and “to listen” are overflowing.

I realize that for those who followed her career as it happened this book probably read like a boring textbook. But for me, it was enthralling and enriching…mostly inspiring. Once I was a little like Patti and I hope to find that spirit again someday. To be free.

View all my reviews

