Tags

, , , , ,

The Flight of Gemma HardyThe Flight of Gemma Hardy by Margot Livesey
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I must say, I don’t really know why this book took me so long to read. The first half took about 24 days, the last half about 2. Was it bad writing? personal distractions? Who knows. What I cannot really tell you is whether I enjoyed the first half or not. I read it in such short increments spread out over so much time, I can hardly say I enjoyed it. However what I can say is that I thoroughly enjoyed the end. Perhaps I related more to the Gemma who was discovering love and adult life. Apparently this is meant to be an interpretation of Jane Eyre, which I have never read so I cannot give my opinion on that matter. Overall I’d say it’s a good read, but I don’t feel I can recommend it given my strange reading pattern. I’m still afraid that perhaps I read the beginning slowly because it wasn’t very engaging and that others would have the same problem.

View all my reviews

