Tags

, , , , , , , ,

The Tiger's WifeThe Tiger’s Wife by Téa Obreht
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I am shocked that this is the author’s first novel and also that she is so young! I agree with some other reviewers that it was a bit hard to follow, but I think honestly for me that was more because I kept getting distracted and having to put it down. If I had sat down and read for hours at a time, I don’t think I would’ve had any trouble. I enjoyed all the anecdotes and the jumping through time and space. It was really my kind of book. Kudos to Obreht for an excellent first novel. I hope there are more to come.

“Zora was a woman of principle, an open atheist. At the age of thirteen, a priest had told her that animals had no souls, and she had said, “well then, fuck you, Pops,” and walked out of church.”
― Téa Obreht, The Tiger’s Wife

View all my reviews

