Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Ta da! Sampler quilt COMPLETE!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

After a 9 year hiatus from quilting, I jumped back in to finish a nearly done full-sized quilt for my husband and I. Noticing all the mistakes in that quilt, I decided to practice my quilting skills before embarking on another full-sized project. I watched countless videos on YouTube (mostly Missouri Star Quilt Co. – they are awesome!), poured over quilt books (from my own collection and the public library), and organized my stash of fabric (or at least the portion of it that’s in the house – did I mention I have had a fabric hoarding problem since I was a small child). Then I took a drawer full of scraps, my rotary cutter and what I’d learned and started piecing blocks. I just built the quilt as a went, going from the center out, with absolutely no plan at all. Your may be able to pick them out in the picture, but featured here are Crazy Quilt Blocks with a border, surrounded by Flying Geese units and Nine Patch squares, all of which are surrounded further by blocks made with Tube Quilting (a new favorite of mine). As you can see I decided to tie this quilt with embroidery floss instead of stitching. The backing is a 2 yard piece of flannel light pink background with cat faces. It worked out to be the perfect size for this “crib size” blanket (a handy thing to know if you are making a crib quilt). I created the binding by sewing together 6 strips from one of the new packs of fabric I got on my birthday shopping spree, and then pressing it all into a double fold binding tape just like you can get pre-made at the store. I had always gone with the store-bought stuff because I thought it would be far too tedious to iron them on my own. I’ll admit it – I was wrong. It was so easy and it made for a really unique binding that I LOVE! One very important skill that I relearned was to miter the corners neatly when sewing on the binding. As you can see from the picture, I am very proud of my neat corners!

If you learned to quilt as a child and let those skills fall by the wayside, don’t be afraid to pick it back up again! You may just find that you really did enjoy it and using lots of cool new techniques you may be able to do more than you expected you could. I found that not limiting myself to a seriously planned out project really allowed me to move through this experience creatively and relaxed.

_______________________________________________

Here’s another sewing project I completed this weekend. A country kitty door stop from preprinted fabric, complete with rocks inside to really hold a door. This is destined to be a Christmas gift.

